All SIX English clubs confirm withdrawal from Super League project

All six Premier League clubs originally involved with the proposed new Super League have withdrawn their involvement – less than 48 hours after the project was first announced.

Arsenal, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham have followed Manchester City in distancing themselves from proceedings despite originally being described as ‘founders’.

Chelsea have now also confirmed their exit after drawing 1-1 against Brighton on Tuesday.

Fans across English football voiced their concerns over this new breakaway league and even engaged in protests outside football stadiums, namely Elland Road on Monday and Stamford Bridge on Tuesday.

And in a dramatic u-turn, the top sides have since released statements revealing their “regret” and apologies for causing “anxiety and upset”.

This news comes as a major blow to Real Madrid president Florentino Pérez, with the Super League likely to be disbanded with support wavering from the six remaining clubs.

One Football

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.